New Law Causes Retake of Crystal Palace Penalty Against Manchester United
Sunday 30-11-2025
The match between Manchester United and Crystal Palace, currently taking place as part of the 13th round of the English Premier League, witnessed a clear application of the new rule regarding touching the ball twice during the execution of a penalty kick.

In the 33rd minute, Crystal Palace was awarded a penalty, which the French player Jean-Philippe Mateta took and successfully placed the ball into the net. However, the referee decided to cancel the penalty after replays showed that the player touched the ball twice during the execution.

While the old rule stipulated canceling the kick and awarding a foul in favor of the opposing team, the new amendment states that the kick should be canceled and retaken, which is what the referee did during the match.

Mateta stepped up to take the penalty again, and this time he calmly placed it into the net, correctly scoring the goal past goalkeeper Seny Lamens.

Matches
Videos
News
Standings
Transfer
settings